Since 1996, over $16,000,000 in losses have been reported. CICP has helped recover over $5,300,000.
The 2009 Oregon legislature passed SB570, designed to curb metal theft. The bill was effective January 1, 2010 and has several requirements for businesses who sell, buy or transport scrap metal. The bill also requires District Attorney's who have scrap metal businesses in their counties to develop a plan that ensures effective communication between law enforcement and the business community regarding the theft of metal property. In addition, law enforcement agencies are to notify scrap metal businesses of a theft of metal property within 24 hours after the receipt of the report of the theft.
Contractors who sell their scrap metal directly to a scrap metal recycler should set up a commercial account with every scrap metal business where they sell scrap. Once a commercial account has been set up, contractors can be paid immediately for their scrap. Commercial contractors may be paid in cash, but if you prefer a check you should make those arrangements with the scrap metal business.
In the 2010 special session, the legislature made a few changes to SB570. Those changes allow payment for individuals to sell scrap metal will be made only by check. The check must be mailed to an address that matches the address on their ID. A three day waiting period applies.
Scrap metal recyclers are required to notify law enforcement if they purchase commercial metal property from a person other than a commercial seller with a commercial account. Commercial property has a lengthy definition, but includes such things as utility access covers, traffic devices, vases, grave markers, agricultural implements, forestry implements, logging equipment, equipment used by railroads and utilities, material used by building contractors including copper or aluminum pipe, tubing or wiring.
Now, when your employees transport scrap metal to a recycler, they must carry a completed Metal Transport Certificate. A Metal Transport Certificate may be downloaded from the Oregon State Police website here: http://www.oregon.gov/OSP/metal_trans_certificate.shtml.
Payments to individuals who sell scrap metal will be made only by check sent to a street address. In the 2010 special session, the legislature made a few changes to SB570. One of those changes allows for checks to individual selling scrap may be mailed to an address that matches the address on their ID. A three day waiting period, before the check is mailed still applies.
For more information about the metal theft legislation, visit the OSP website at www.oregon.gov/OSP/
SB570, The Metal Theft Bill
HB 3695, The Metal Theft Bill